African Economic Research Consortium PhD Scholarships (AERC) 2024-2025| APPLY NOW

African Economic Research Consortium PhD Scholarships (AERC) 2023-2024
African Economic Research Consortium PhD Scholarships (AERC) 2023-2024

The African Economic Research Consortium (AERC) is pleased to declare the initiation of the 2023/24 AERC PhD Scholarships. These scholarships are available to candidates hailing from both Francophone and Anglophone sub-Saharan African nations, who aspire to pursue Economics degrees at universities that confer such degrees.

The primary objective of these scholarships is to bolster progress within sub-Saharan Africa. This is achieved by cultivating a pool of proficient economists within the region, fostering expertise in policy research and postgraduate training.

Scholarship Sponsor(s): AERC

Scholarship Type: Full funding

Host Institution(s): Participating universities in Africa

Scholarship Worth: Not specified

Number of Awards: Several

Application Deadline: August 31st, 2023

Study Level: Postgraduate (PhD)

Nationality: Africans

SEE ALSO: Reach Oxford Scholarships in UK 2024 | How To Apply

African Economic Research Consortium PhD Scholarships 2023 | Eligibility Criteria

To be considered for the AERC PhD Scholarships 2023, applicants must meet the following requirements:

  • Have applied and been admitted to any of the participating universities.
  • Have obtained at least a Second Class Honours (Upper Division) or equivalent in Economics, Agricultural Economics, or related field from an accredited university.
  • Have a Masters degree (with coursework and thesis component) in Economics, Agricultural Economics, or related fields from a recognized University. The coursework should have covered microeconomics, macroeconomics, quantitative methods and econometrics.
  • Possession of at least 1 relevant publication in a refereed journal will be an added advantage.
  • Evidence of engagement in economic management, research and/or training in the public sector will be an added advantage
  • Female and applicants from post-conflict and fragile states (especially the AERC PhD Bridge Programme alumni class of 2017 and 2018) are encouraged to apply.

Participating Universities

  • University of Cape Town, South Africa
  • University of Witwatersrand, South Africa
  • University of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
  • University of Nairobi, Kenya
  • University of Ibadan, Nigeria
  • University of Benin, Nigeria
  • University of Yaoundé II, Cameroon
  • University of Abomey-Calavi, Benin
  • Félix Houphouet-Boigny University, Côte d’Ivoire

Application Procedures

How-to-Apply: Interested applicants for the African Economic Research Consortium PhD Scholarships are to submit their applications for admission directly to the respective universities (application procedure can be obtained from the respective university’s website). Upon receipt of an admission letter from a specific university, applicants shall upload the following documents on to the AERC scholarship portal:

  • Application cover letter
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Evidence of admission at any of the participating universities
  • Certified copies of transcripts and certificates.

Visit the Official Website for Further Details

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like