African Economic Research Consortium PhD Scholarships 2024| APPLY

African Economic Research Consortium PhD Scholarships 2023| APPLY
African Economic Research Consortium PhD Scholarships 2023| APPLY

The African Economic Research Consortium (AERC) is pleased to announce the start of the 2023/24 AERC PhD Scholarships for applicants from Francophone and Anglophone Sub-Saharan African nations who intend to study at universities offering Economics degrees.

The scholarship aims to sustain development in Sub-Saharan Africa by training locally based economists and providing support in the fields of policy research and graduate education.

Scholarship Sponsor(s): AERC

Scholarship Type: Full funding

Host Institution(s): Participating universities in Africa

Scholarship Worth: Not specified

Application Deadline: August 31st, 2023

Number of Awards: Several

Study Level: Postgraduate (PhD)

Nationality: Africans

See Also: University of Salford MSc Public Health International Scholarship 2023/24

African Economic Research Consortium PhD Scholarships 2023 | Eligibility Criteria

Applicants must meet the following requirements to be considered for the AERC PhD Scholarships 2023:

  • Have applied to and been accepted by one of the participating universities.
  • A Second Class Honours (Upper Division) or equivalent in Economics, Agricultural Economics, or a similar discipline from an approved university is required.
  • Possess a Masters degree (with coursework and a thesis component) from a recognized university in Economics, Agricultural Economics, or a related field. Microeconomics, macroeconomics, quantitative methods, and econometrics should have been addressed in the curriculum.
  • Possession of at least one relevant article in a refereed journal is a plus.
  • Evidence of participation in economic management, research, and/or training in the public sector will be advantageous.
  • Female applicants and applicants from post-conflict and unstable states are encouraged to apply, particularly the AERC PhD Bridge Programme alumni class of 2017 and 2018.

Universities that are taking part.

  • University of Ibadan, Nigeria
  • University of Benin, Nigeria
  • University of Yaoundé II, Cameroon
  • University of Abomey-Calavi, Benin
  • Félix Houphouet-Boigny University, Côte d’Ivoire
  • University of Cape Town, South Africa
  • University of Witwatersrand, South Africa
  • University of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
  • University of Nairobi, Kenya


Applicants interested in the African Economic Research Consortium PhD Scholarships should apply directly to the different universities (application procedures can be found on the relevant university’s website). Applicants must upload the following documents to the AERC scholarship portal once they have received an admission letter from a specific university:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like